I. Jordan Announces Debut Album ‘I Am Jordan’, Releases New Song

    I. Jordan has announced their debut album: I Am Jordan arrives May 10 via Ninja Tune. Lead single ‘Real Hot n Naughty’, out now, features Sex Education actor and rapper Felix Mufti. Check out its accompanying video, directed by Elif Gonen, below.

    “This album is about joy,” Jordan explained in a statement. “It’s about my joy as a trans person, and trans joy generally, working with trans people, making all this fun music together.”

    Of collaborating with Mufti, Jordan said: “A large part of the reason why Felix and I instantly bonded is because of our queer working-class backgrounds, and our pride around that as well. Our aim with this track is to make a real queer northern dance anthem. A lot of working-class, northern humour is ‘things are a bit shit, but whatever. We’ll take the piss.”

    “We had the idea of doing the video in a bingo hall as it connected to our upbringing and spaces we spent a lot of time in when we were growing up,” Jordan continued. “Sprucing them up and reclaiming them to be full of queer and trans joy felt important and symbolic to me as it connected two important parts of my identity that aren’t often merged together. We wanted to make something fun, cute and cheeky and fuck all the tories.”

    Mufti added: “This celebration of our unhinged family is my proudest project to date. Told through a working-class lense that has defined so much of me and Jordan as artists, I couldn’t be happier to finally share this story with the world.”

    I Am Jordan Cover Artwork:

    I Am Jordan Tracklist:

    1. When Lights Flash
    2. Casino High
    3. Real Hot n Naughty [feat. Felix Mufti]
    4. The Countdown [feat. TAAHLIAH]
    5. Butterlick [feat. Sister Zo]
    6. Reification and Pathetic Fallacy
    7. People Want Nice Things
    8. Round n Round
    9. The Woodpecker
    10. 7 Degrees of Despondent
    11. Close To You
    12. Rapt Finis

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading