Bat for Lashes Announces New Album ‘Dream of Delphi’, Returns With New Song

    Bat for Lashes is back with news of a new album, The Dream of Delphi. The follow-up to 2019’s Lost Girls is out May 31 via her new label home Mercury KX. The title track is out today alongside a music video, produced in collaboration with creative director and choreographer Alexandra Green and directed by Freddie Leyden, which forms the first chapter of a yet-to-be-announced album film. Check it out below, and scroll down for the album cover and tracklist.

    “This is the manifesto of the album,” Natasha Khan said in a statement. “It’s like a spell being cast. It’s the conjuring, the manifestation, the drawing-down of Delphi from the ether. This is me calling on her soul. It’s about going up into the stars and down into the underworld simultaneously, how celestials and deep guttural sounds can come together, how that reflects the journey I went on. It’s about what happens when you’re stretched physically, mentally, even vaginally! I think it’s just humbled me, too, becoming a mother. It’s made me feel more vulnerable than I’ve ever felt before. But I feel more human, more embodied. I can’t escape life by making beautiful things as much as I did. But there’s sort of a beauty to my mortality now.”

    The Dream of Delphi is named after Khan’s daughter Delphi, who was born in California in the summer of 2020. “Motherhood I thought would take me away from my art, but it opened up this massive world,” she said. Last year, Khan released a hand-illustrated Tarot deck called Motherwitch. “I’ve turned the mother in me into this more potent, heightened archetype of the aspects of myself that are a mother. [The Motherwitch] helps me be able to take something so vulnerable and personal out into the world – I felt I couldn’t just do it as Natasha, because it’s so, so deep.”

    The Dream of Delphi Cover Artwork:

    The Dream of Delphi Tracklist:

    1. The Dream Of Delphi
    2. Christmas Day
    3. Letter To My Daughter
    4. At Your Feet
    5. The Midwives Have Left
    6. Home
    7. Breaking Up
    8. Delphi Dancing
    9. Her First Morning
    10. Waking Up
    11. The Dream of Delphi (Bonus Extended Strings Version)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading