Crumb Announce New Album ‘AMAMA’, Share Video for New Single

    Crumb have announced their third LP, AMAMA, the follow-up to 2021’s Ice Melt. It’s set to arrive on May 17 through Crumb Records, and the album’s title track, an ode to singer Lila Ramani’s grandmother, is out today. Check it out and find the album cover and tracklist below.

    “‘AMAMA’ is dedicated to my namesake, my grandmother, whose voice is sampled throughout the song,” Ramani shared in a statement. “A video sent to me over WhatsApp of her singing originally inspired the melody and ethos of the song, from which I built its glitchy, warped foundation. It’s a love song! My partner and Crumb’s creative director [Abraham El Makawy] directed the video, which combines his family’s archival footage of the neighbourhood we grew up in, home videos from the band, as well as drawings from 702 fans who helped us animate the last part of the video. The song is the title track and spiritual centre of our new album.”

    AMAMA Cover Artwork:

    AMAMA Tracklist:

    1. From Outside A Window Sill
    2. Side By Side
    3. The Bug
    4. AMAMA
    5. Genie
    6. Crushxd
    7. Nightly News
    8. (Alone In) Brussels
    9. Sleep Talk
    10. Dust Bunny
    11. Swarmed
    12. XXX

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading