Lady Dan Announces Debut Album, Releases New Song ‘I Am The Prophet’

    Lady Dan, the project of Austin-based singer-songwriter Tyler Dozier, has announced her debut studio album. It’s called I Am The Prophet and it arrives April 23 via Earth Libraries. Along with the announcement, Dozier has also shared the album’s title track alongside an accompanying music video. Check it out below, and scroll down for the LP’s tracklist.

    Originally from Dothan, AL, Dozier grew up in a strictly religious environment and moved to Birmingham, AL in her early twenties to attend a ministry school. During that time, she began to question the role of the Church in her life and grappled with the death of her father. Speaking of the new song in a statement, Dozier explained: “”I Am the Prophet” was born of the resentment that comes with the modern dating era: a month getting to know someone, letting them know you, and the other party backing out once things are meant to progress. So you stay on this constant loop, like a rodent running on a wheel, doomed to repeat the cycle until you’re so tired you just give up completely. Then, throw some sacrilege in for a little flavor.”

    Of the track’s video, she added: “The three of us ladies sat down to see when we could create these videos just one week after I got back to Austin from wrapping up recording in Nashville. We somehow landed on a date just two weeks from that moment, with the intention of driving 18 hours to Joshua Tree, California to film it. We had plans to shoot at the Monahans Sandhills State Park in Texas for the daylight scenes in ‘I Am The Prophet’, so we knocked the scenes out and hit the road, jamming to early 2000s hits and a little bit of Fleetwood Mac. The ‘red scenes’ you’ll see in this video were filmed the following evening at the dining table of our desert Airbnb.”

    I Am the Prophet Tracklist:

    1. Paradox
    2. Dogs
    3. Better Off Alone
    4. Plagiarist’s Blues
    5. I Am the Prophet
    6. Intro to Loss
    7. No Home
    8. Misandrist to Most
    9. The Boys Who Can’t Sit Still
    10. Drink Your Sorrows
    11. Left-Handed Love

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading