Laura Mvula Announces New Album ‘Pink Noise’, Releases New Song

    British singer-songwriter Laura Mvula has announced her first album in five years. Marking her debut on Atlantic, Pink Noise arrives on July 2. It includes the newly unveiled single ‘Church Girl’, which you can check out below, along with the album cover and tracklist.

    Talking about the new album in a press release, Mvula said:

    This is the album I always wanted make. Every corner is made warm with sunset tones of the ’80s. I was born in 1986. I came out of the womb wearing shoulder pads. I absorbed the dynamism of the ’80s aesthetic right from my first moments on this planet. Wrestling with identity seems to be one of the rites of passage of the established artist. Making Pink Noise felt like the most violent of emotional wrestling matches. It took three years of waiting and waiting and fighting and dying and nothingness and then finally an explosion of sound. As if it was always here this record is my most honest and unapologetic flying of the freedom flag. In my adult years I had forgotten how important dance was to me as a vital tool of my creative expression. I brought it back, just for me, so I could find my delight in dance again. And now I can’t stop dancing. I can’t wait to play this album live.

    Of ‘Church Girl’, she added:

    I am not my story. For so long I identified as the things that happen in my life, the things I do, good or bad. I’m letting go of this mind-made “me.” I’m coming home to myself beyond the realm of form. I am not the thoughts in my head, or the things I achieve, or the shape of my haircut. I no longer “dance with the devil” on my back. I’m basking in the light of knowing my true self, the deeper “I.”

    Laura Mvula’s last album was 2016’s The Dreaming Room. Last month, she released the 1/f EP.

    Pink Noise Cover Artwork:

    Pink Noise Tracklist:

    1. Safe Passage
    2. Conditional
    3. Church Girl
    4. Remedy
    5. Magical
    6. Pink Noise
    7. Golden Ashes
    8. What Matters
    9. Got Me
    10. Before the Dawn

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading