Lucy Dacus Announces New Album ‘Home Video’, Releases New Song ‘Hot & Heavy’

    Lucy Dacus has announced her third album, Home Video. The follow-up to 2018’s Historian arrives on June 25 via Matador. Dacus has also shared a new single from the album called ‘Hot & Heavy’, along with a video co-directed with Marin Leong and shot in the historic Byrd Theatre in Richmond, Virginia. Check it out below and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    “I thought I was writing ‘Hot & Heavy’ about an old friend, but I realized along the way that it was just about me outgrowing past versions of myself,” Dacus explained in a statement. “So much of life is submitting to change and saying goodbye even if you don’t want to. Now whenever I go to places that used to be significant to me, it feels like trespassing the past. I know that the teen version of me wouldn’t approve of me now, and that’s embarrassing and a little bit heartbreaking, even if I know intellectually that I like my life and who I am.”

    Of the video, she added: “I knew I wanted to include some of the home video footage that my dad took of me while I was growing up. I wanted to visualize the moment when you first reflect on your childhood, which I think can also be the moment that childhood is over. For me, I feel like there was a hard switch when I started releasing music, when my identity went from being a personal project to something publicly observed and reflected. I asked my family (shoutout to my grandma) and some of my closest friends to be extras because they’re the people that knew me before that switch. I may have dropped out of film school, but I still love making movies and had a really fun time directing this one.”

    Home Video will include the previously unveiled single ‘Thumbs’, which we named our Song of the Week following its release. The album was recorded at Nashville’s Trace Horse Studio with Jacob Blizard, Collin Pastore, and Jake Finch, mixed by Shawn Everett, and mastered by Bob Ludwig. Two tracks on the LP feature Dacus’ boygenius bandmates Phoebe Bridgers and Julien Baker.

    In addition to the album, Lucy Dacus has also announced a North American tour, which is set to take place in September and October. Tickets go on sale Friday, April 16 at 10am local time.

    Home Video Cover Artwork:

    Home Video Tracklist:

    1. Hot & Heavy
    2. Christine
    3. First Time
    4. VBS
    5. Cartwheel
    6. Thumbs
    7. Going Going Gone
    8. Partner In Crime
    9. Brando
    10. Please Stay
    11. Triple Dog Dare

    Photo by Ebru Yildiz
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading