Wye Oak Announce 10th Anniversary Reissue of ‘Civilian’, Unveil Previously Unreleased Song

    Wye Oak have announced a 10th anniversary reissue of their 2011 album Civilian. The 2xLP features the original album, along with a compilation of unreleased tracks and demos titled Cut All The Wires: 2009-2011. Hear ‘Electricity’, a previously unreleased song from 2009 that inspired the LP’s title, below.

    Of the song’s origins, Andy Stack explained in a statement:

    After playing “Electricity” in live shows for a year or so around 2009, we made a studio recording but never mixed it, and ultimately decided to shelve the song. And so, it was relegated to the dustbin of time, aka an old hard drive which I did not unearth until 2020 when I came looking for old photos and other memorabilia from the Civilian era. On my old drive, I found a treasure trove of material which we had both forgotten ever existed—original demos, live versions of the songs, and, most exciting, a bunch of fully realized studio recordings from this era which never saw the light of day. On “Electricity,” I was really bashing the drums in a way that I never would now, and I hear that same abandon in Jenn [Wasner]’s singing. The recording has much of what defined the first phase of Wye Oak: an urgent push and pull between chaos and beauty, and a hard-hitting attempt to push out as much sound as we possibly could from our duo setup. It’s not who we are anymore, but I still relate to the old feeling, and I still get goosebumps when I listen to these recordings. Everything old is new.

    Cut All the Wires: 2009–2011 Tracklist: 

    1. Replacement
    2. Civilian (Demo)
    3. No Words
    4. Electricity
    5. Half a Double Man
    6. Sinking Ship
    7. Two Small Deaths (Daytrotter Session)
    8. Holy Holy (Demo)
    9. Pardon
    10. Black Is the Color
    11. Ten Fingers
    12. I’m Proud

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading