Neil Young Unveils Previously Unreleased Album ‘Summer Songs’

    Neil Young has unveiled a previously unreleased album called Summer Songs. Originally recorded at Broken Arrow Ranch in 1987, the eight-track LP features early versions of songs that would later appear on 1989’s Freedom (‘Wrecking Ball’, ‘Someday’, ‘Hangin’ on a Limb’), Harvest Moon (‘One of These Days’), Psychedelic Pill (‘For the Love of Man)’, and CSNY’s 1988 record American Dream (‘American Dream’, ‘Name of Love’), as well as the song ‘Last of His Kind’, which Young debuted at the 1987 Farm Aid but never officially released. Subscribers of the Neil Young Archives can stream the album here.

    Young wrote in a blog post:

    Happy Holidays everyone! I think you will enjoy this very cool recording – lost for years, but not forgotten. Now a gift. NYA’s files reveal the whole history. American Dream feels more real than ever. How could somethin’ so good go bad so fast? Wow, that was a little sad. But things are still good down on the farm right? Not so fast. Thanks Willie, John, Dave, Carolyn, Annie, for all you’ve done. It’s an honour being there with you. Replanting for next year? The farmer’s wife, the children, the animals. the birds. Kinda leaves you hangin’. We can win.

    Earlier this month, Young and Crazy Horse issued their latest album Barn. 

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading