Teen Suicide Announces New Album ‘honeybee table at the butterfly feast’, Shares New Song

    After returning with the song ‘coyote (2019-2022)’ earlier this year, Teen Suicide has announced a new album titled honeybee table at the butterfly feast. It comes out August 26 via Run For Cover Records. Listen to the new single ‘get high, breathe underwater (#3)’ below, and scroll down for the album cover and full tracklist.

    Sam Ray wrote the new LP over a period of several years while he struggled with a respiratory illness that made it very difficult to perform and record, eventually leading to a near-death experience. “I had to begin prioritizing the increasingly rarer and shorter periods where I felt able to still sing–despite being at such a lower o2 sat than I should, and thus a much lower lung capacity,” he explained. “It took a toll on everything for me, not just productivity, but writing too, as singing is such a big part of the writing process for me.”

    He continued:

    This led to a kind of bottleneck, where I had increasingly smaller windows where I could work normally, and I had a deeper and deeper reserve of ideas to pull from. I had to be judicious, only choosing songs I felt were my best, and which best represented me as an artist, because by this point I was looking at it as my last album. Whether I died from the illness or was just unable to ever sing and work like I had before, I wanted to get everything done that I possibly could, and yet I became almost completely unable to function. This led to an at times almost hopeless depression and yet also an incredible desire to push through and work harder than I ever have. And in that conflict I found a lot of the material for the record.

    honeybee table at the butterfly feast Cover Artwork:

    honeybee table at the butterfly feast Tracklist:

    1. you were my star
    2. death wish
    3. get high, breathe underwater (3#)
    4. unwanted houseguest
    5. groceries
    6. i will always be in love with you
    7. new strategies for telemarketing through precognitive dreams
    8. violence violence
    9. coyote (2015-2021)
    10. every time i hear your name called
    11. you can’t blame me
    12. it was probably nothing but for a moment there I lost all sense of feeling
    13. all of us steady dying
    14. complaining in dreams
    15. how to disappear in america without a trace
    16. another life (bootleg)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading