M83 Announces New Album ‘Fantasy’, Shares Video for New Single ‘Oceans Niagara’

    Anthony Gonzalez has announced the ninth M83 album, Fantasy, which will arrive on March 17 via their own Other Suns label. To accompany the announcement, he’s shared a new single called ‘Oceans Niagara’, alongside a video created by his brother and filmmaker Yann Gonzalez. Check it out and find the album’s cover artwork and tracklist below.

    “Very proud to present the first track of my new album Fantasy,” Anthony Gonzalez commented in a press release. “It’s called ‘Oceans Niagara’ and it’s the very first collaboration between my brother Yann Gonzalez and myself on a music video. I wanted to create this sense of friendship. Listening to that song, I imagine people running, driving fast, or riding spaceships together. It’s this sense of going forward, like a magic potion that you take to discover new worlds. Beyond Adventure!”

    Yann Gonzalez added: “‘Oceans Niagara’ is the perfect synthesis of M83’s music: a wall of sound and emotions that goes crescendo until it climaxes, with moments of pure melodic ecstasy that personally make me feel like I’m floating, loving and crying all at once, almost like being a teenager again. This is the first time I’m directing a music video for Anthony and this was a great chance for us to share our common references and emotions from our own childhood and teenage years with hints of our favorite French-Japanese animes, horror films and kid’s strange TV shows from the ‘80s and ‘90s.”

    Fantasy will follow 2019’s DSVII, the sequel to 2007’s Digital Shades Vol. 1. “I wanted this record to be very impactful live,” the M83 frontman said in a statement. “The idea was to come back with something closer to the energy of Before The Dawn Heals Us. The combination of guitars and synths is always in my music, but it’s maybe more present on this new record than on the previous ones. I wanted to be more present lyrically and vocally even if that was daunting at first. I thought if I could achieve that, this album will be more personal than those that came before.”

    Fantasy Cover Artwork:

    Fantasy Tracklist:

    1 . Water Deep
    2 . Oceans Niagara
    3 . Amnesia
    4. Us And The Rest
    5. Earth To Sea
    6. Radar, Far, Gone
    7. Deceiver
    8. Fantasy
    9. Laura
    10. Sunny Boy
    11. Kool Nuit
    12. Sunny Boy Part 2
    13. Dismemberment Bureau

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading