The Libertines Announce First New Album in Nine Years, Share New Single

    The Libertines have announced their first new album in over eight years. The follow-up to 2015’s Anthems for Doomed Youth is called All Quiet on the Eastern Esplanade, and it’s out on March 8. Check out its first single, ‘Run, Run, Run’, below.

    The Libertines recorded the new album with producer Dimitri Tikovoï, and all four band members share songwriting credit on every song. Of ‘Run, Run, Run’, the band’s Carl Barat said in a statement: “It’s about being trapped, and trying to escape your dismal life, a bit like the man in Bukowski’s Post Office. The worst thing for The Libertines would be to get stuck in a ‘Run-run-run’ rut, constantly trying to relive our past.”

    Speaking about the album, he added: “Our first record was born out of panic, and disbelief that we were actually allowed to be in a studio; the second was born of total strife and misery; the third was born of complexity; this one feels like we were all actually in the same place, at the same speed, and we really connected.”

    “I feel like we’ve completed a cycle of some kind as a band, and finally now we can add these songs to the set list, because we’ve got some bangers in there,” Pete Doherty commented. “Now we’ve opened the hotel and used the studio ourselves and it’s all worked out—more Libertines records? I should hope so!”

    All Quiet on the Eastern Esplanade Cover Artwork:

    All Quiet on the Eastern Esplanade Tracklist:

    1. Run, Run, Run
    2. Mustang
    3. Have a Friend
    4. Merry Old England
    5. Man With the Melody
    6. Oh Shit
    7. Night of the Hunter
    8. Baron’s Claw
    9. Shiver
    10. Be Young
    11. Songs They Never Play on the Radio

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading