Lucy Rose Announces New Album, Shares New Single ‘The Racket’

    Lucy Rose has announced her fifth album, This Ain’t The Way You Go Out, which is out April 19 on Communion Records. It includes the recent single ‘Could You Help Me’, as well as a new track, ‘The Racket’. Check out its Dylan Friese-Greene-directed video below.

    Rose released her last album, No Words Left, back in 2019, and welcomed her first child, Otis, in 2021. “Five weeks after I gave birth to Otis, I started getting back pain,” she explained in press materials. “It was only mild, but it really restricted my movements. My GP insisted that it was normal to experience back pain after giving birth, but it made taking care of Otis difficult, lifting him slowly in and out of the cot, until one night, whilst lifting him, my back went.” She was eventually diagnosed with rare pregnancy-induced osteoporosis.

    Speaking about ‘The Racket’, Rose said: “I wanted my new album to end on a note of defiance and triumphant; of accepting what’s happened to me, pushing through, picking myself up and continuing life in the best way I can. I also wanted to start the song thanking my son Otis for loving me throughout everything, because really in those darkest times, it was his love that pulled me through.”

    “The song title nods to two things, the fact that the end of the song is an onslaught of noises and instrumentation, and also the fact that before breaking my back and receiving my diagnosis, tennis was a huge passion of mine, and I got told by my doctors I wouldn’t be able to play again, or potentially even walk,” Rose continued. “But slowly, slowly, I found my way back to the court and reclaimed that part of me. And a final side note, this song was SO much fun to make, from start to finish, it brought a smile to my face every time!”

    This Ain’t The Way You Go Out Cover Artwork:

    This Ain’t The Way You Go Out Tracklist:

    1. Light As Grass
    2. Could You Help Me
    3. Dusty Frames
    4. Whatever You Want
    5. Interlude I
    6. Life’s Too Short
    7. This Ain’t The Way You Go Out
    8. Over When It’s Over
    9. Sail Away
    10. Interlude II
    11. No More
    12. The Racket

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading