Naima Bock Announces New Album ‘Below a Massive Dark Land’, Shares New Songs

    Naima Bock has announced her second album, Below a Massive Dark Land. The follow-up to 2022’s Giant Palm is set for release on September 27 via Sub Pop/Memorials of Distinction. Along with the announcement, she’s shared two lead singles, ‘Kaley’ and ‘Further Away’. ‘Kaley’ is accompanied by a Cassidy Hansen-directed video, while ‘Further Away’ comes paired with visuals by Gaia Alari. Check them out below.

    “‘Kaley’ was written whilst staying at a friend’s house in Tucson, or at least it was finished there,” Bock explained in a statement. “It’s about betrayal and the subsequent lack of direction that follows. At the time there was no ‘plan’ or ‘way’ that I had for myself, let alone anyone else.”

    “‘Further Away’ was written in Greece whilst trying to learn mini bouzouki and missing someone,” she added.

    Below a Massive Dark Land was primarily produced by Jack Osborne (Bingo Fury) and Joe Jones. It was recorded at the Crypt in North London and features additional production and arrangement by Oliver Hamilton (caroline, Shovel Dance Collective) and Bock herself. Unlike Giant Palm, which was was arranged with collaborator Joel Burton, the writing of the new LP was mostly a solitary affair. “After me and Joel stopped working together, it was an impossibility to even fathom doing arrangements myself, but then I started learning violin,” Bock recalled. “Playing it isn’t easy but writing melodies on it is. I think I needed it, to be able to feel proud of something. Like, that’s me! That feels good.”

    Read our Artist Spotlight interview with Naima Bock.



    Below a Massive Dark Land Cover Artwork:

    Below a Massive Dark Land Tracklist:

    1. Gentle
    2. Kaley
    3. Feed My Release
    4. My Sweet Body
    5. Lines
    6. Further Away
    7. Takes One
    8. Age
    9. Moving
    10. Star

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading