Joni Mitchell Announces New Box Set, Unveils Remastered Version of ‘A Case of You’

    Joni Mitchell has announced a new box set titled The Reprise Albums (1968-1971), which will feature her prolific four-album run for Reprise Records — 1968’s Song to a Seagull, 1969’s Clouds, 1970’s Ladies of the Canyon, and 1971’s Blue. The collection is set for release on June 25 via Rhino to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Blue. Below, listen to a remastered version of the album’s classic track ‘A Case of You’.

    All four albums featured in the box set have received full remasters. Talking about remastering Song to a Seagull in particular, Mitchell said in a statement: “The original mix was atrocious. It sounded like it was recorded under a jello bowl, so I fixed it!”

    The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) also includes an essay by singer-songwriters Brandi Carlile, who writes, “In my opinion, Blue is the greatest album ever made. Blue didn’t make me a better songwriter. Blue made me a better woman. No matter what we are dealing with in these times, we can rejoice and know that of all the ages we could have lived through, we lived in the time of Joni Mitchell.”

    Pre-orders for the vinyl, CD, and digital versions of the box set are currently available at Mitchell’s official website. The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) is part of Mitchell’s ongoing archival series, with a press release noting that a second installment focusing on the timeframe when she recorded these four albums will be released later this year.

    The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) Artwork:

    The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) Tracklist:

    Song To A Seagull (1968)

    1. I Had A King
    2. Michael From Mountains
    3. Night In The City
    4. Marcie
    5. Nathan La Franeer
    6. Sisotowbell Lane
    7. The Dawntreader
    8. The Pirate Of Penance
    9. Song To A Seagull
    10. Cactus Tree

    Clouds (1969)

    1. Tin Angel
    2. Chelsea Morning
    3. I Don’t Know Where I Stand
    4. That Song About The Midway
    5. Roses Blue
    6. The Gallery
    7. I Think I Understand
    8. Songs To Aging Children Come
    9. The Fiddle And The Drum
    10. Both Sides, Now

    Ladies Of The Canyon (1970)

    1. Morning Morgantown
    2. For Free
    3. Conversation
    4. Ladies Of The Canyon
    5. Willy
    6. The Arrangement
    7. Rainy Night House
    8. The Priest
    9. Blue Boy
    10. Big Yellow Taxi
    11. Woodstock
    12. The Circle Game

    Blue (1971)

    1. All I Want
    2. My Old Man
    3. Little Green
    4. Carey
    5. Blue
    6. California
    7. This Flight Tonight
    8. River
    9. A Case Of You
    10. The Last Time I Saw Richard

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading