John Cale Announces New Album ‘Mercy’, Shares New Single Featuring Weyes Blood

    John Cale has announced a new album, Mercy, which is set for release on January 20 via Double Six/Domino. The LP will include the previously released single ‘Night Crawling’, as well as the new track ‘Story of Blood’, which features Weyes Blood. Check out its Jethro Waters-directed music video below, and scroll down for the album artwork and tracklist.

    “I’d been listening to Weyes Blood’s latest record and remembered Natalie’s puritanical vocals,” Cale said of the collaboration in a press release. “I thought if I could get her to come and sing with me on the ‘Swing your soul’ section, and a few other harmonies, it would be beautiful. What I got from her was something else! Once I understood the versatility in her voice, it was as if I’d written the song with her in mind all along. Her range and fearless approach to tonality was an unexpected surprise. There’s even a little passage in there where she’s a dead-ringer for Nico.”

    Mercy also features contributions from Animal Collective, Sylvan Esso, Laurel Halo, Tei Shi, Actress, and more. Weyes Blood’s upcoming album, And in the Darkness, Hearts Aglow, comes out November 18.

    Mercy Tracklist:

    1. Mercy [ft. Laurel Halo]
    2. Marilyn Monroe’s Legs (Beauty Elsewhere) [feat. Actress]
    3. Noise of You
    4. Story of Blood
    5. Time Stands Still [feat. Sylvan Esso]
    6. Moonstruck (Nico’s Song)
    7. Everlasting Days [feat. Animal Collective]
    8. Night Crawling
    9. Not the End of the World
    10. The Legal Status of Ice [feat. Fat White Family]
    11. I Know You’re Happy [feat. Tei Shi]
    12. Out Your Window

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading