Albums Out Today: Kacey Musgraves, Justin Timberlake, Tierra Whack, Four Tet, and More

    In this segment, we showcase the most notable albums out each week. Here are the albums out on March 15, 2024:

    Kacey Musgraves, Deeper Well

    Kacey Musgraves is back with Deeper Well, the follow-up to 2021’s star-crossed. Musgraves co-produced the new LP with longtime collaborators Daniel Tashian and Ian Fitchuk and recorded much of it at New York’s Electric Lady Studios. “I was seeking some different environmental energy and Electric Lady has the best mojo,” Musgraves said in press materials. “Great ghosts.” The album was previewed by the singles ‘Too Good to Be True’ and the title track. Read our review of Deeper Well.

    Justin Timberlake, Everything I Thought It Was

    Justin Timberlake has returned with Everything I Thought It Was, his first album in six years. The Man of the Woods follow-up was preceded by the singles ‘Selfish’ and ‘Drown’. “I think there are moments that are incredibly honest, but also, there’s a lot of fucking fun on this album,” Timberlake said in an Apple Music interview. “I think that’s where I came up with the album title, with everything I thought it was. I was playing it for people around me. They’re like, ‘Oh, this sounds like everything we know you for.’ And then another friend of mine was like, ‘Oh, this sounds like everything I thought I wanted from you.’ It was like that sort of phrase, in one way or another, was in the air. And I thought to myself about how some of the songs are more introspective and some of them are more what I think people know me for.”

    Tierra Whack, World Wide Whack

    Tierra Whack has released World Wide Whack, which is billed as the Philadelphia rapper’s debut album. Featuring the promotional singles ‘Shower Song’ and ‘Chanel Pit’, it follows 2018’s Whack World as well as a trilogy of EPs – Rap?Pop?, and R&B? – that came out in 2021. Whack collaborated with the ]Philly-based Venezuelan American visual artist Alex Da Corte on the album’s visuals and artwork.

    Four Tet, Three

    Four Tet has dropped his new album, Three, via Kieran Hebden’s own label, Text Records. It marks the producer’s first LP since 2020’s Sixteen Oceans, 871, and Parallel, and features the previously released singles ‘Daydream Repeat’, ‘Loved’, and ‘Three Drums’. The album’s cover artwork was designed by Jason Evans and Matthew Cooper.

    Gouge Away, Deep Sage

    Gouge Away have released their third LP, Deep Sage, via Deathwish Inc. The band began writing the follow-up to 2018’s Burnt Sugar in 2019 and didn’t finish until March 2023, when they started tracking it with Jack Shirley at Atomic Garden East, completely analog and almost entirely live. “Recording live and to tape creates an intense environment where we have no choice but to feed off each other’s energy,” the band’s Christina Michelle said in press materials. “We have to get it right in one take and if anyone messes up we all have to start over, so no one wants to be that guy. It adds an element of risk and excitement. We don’t want to sound beautifully polished or perfect anyway. We want to sound like the five of us being human, and no one is better than Jack Shirley when it comes to capturing what it feels like in the room.”

    Boeckner, Boeckner!

    Daniel Boeckner (Wolf Parade, Operators, Divine Fits, Handsome Furs) has issued his self-titled debut solo album. Boeckner! was produced, engineered, and mixed by Randall Dunn at Circular Ruin in New York City and mastered by Heba Kadry in Brooklyn. It features Matt Chamberlain on drums, Medicine’s Brad Laner (who contributed guitar and vocal arrangements), and Jeremy Gaudet of labelmates Kiwi Jr., who co-wrote the song ‘Dead Tourists’. “This record is like an autobiography—Atlas Strategic music concrete synth explosions, lush synth stuff from Operators, the noise guitar from Handsome Furs, drawing influence from everything from Stockhausen to Tom Waits all at the same time,” Boeckner commented in a press release.

    The Messthetics & James Brandon Lewis, The Messthetics and James Brandon Lewis

    The Messthetics – the trio of former Fugazi members Brendan Canty and Joe Lally plus guitarist Anthony Pirog – have teamed up with jazz saxophonist James Brandon Lewis for a new album, which is out now via Impulse! Records. “The way I revere them is the same way that I revere playing with Jamaaladeen Tacuma or playing with William Parker,” Lewis said of working with Lally and Canty. “It’s a certain road experience that you can’t get in school.”

    Devon Welsh, Come With Me If You Want to Live

    Devon Welsh, formerly of Majical Cloudz, has issued a new solo album called Come With Me If You Want to Live. The follow-up to 2019’s True Love includes the advance tracks ‘You Can Do Anything’ and ‘That’s What We Needed’. “It’s a soundtrack for a film that doesn’t exist and probably shouldn’t exist,” Welsh explained in a press release. “In that sense it’s a fantasy album. But a lot of the songs are personal fantasies, so it’s also something of a personal album. I hope it’s a fun album in the sense that it inspires your own personal action movie. So you could call it an action album. It would be fair to call it a pop album, in that I would be pleased if it were popular. It’s my album, but I want to give it to you. So it’s your album now.”

    Other albums out today:

    Elbow, VERTIGO; The Black Crowes, Happiness Bastards; The Dandy Warhols, ROCKMAKER; bedbug, pack your bags the sun is growing; Grieving, Everything Goes Right, All at Once; Chuck Strangers, A Forsaken Lover’s Plea; Dancer, 10 Songs I Hate About You; Kid Kapichi, There Goes the Neighbourhood; Marla Hansen, Salt; DragonForce, Warp Speed Warriors; Heavee, Unleash; Amirtha Kidambi’s Elder Ones, New Monuments.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading